Medical billing DORNER Billing in the Munich leukaemia laboratory

The Munich Leukaemia Laboratory is a leading international provider of leukaemia diagnostics. For the billing of more than 100,000 examined cases per year, they used our i/med Billing.

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern, founder and managing director of MLL Munich Leukaemia Laboratory, reveals why in this video:

Medical billing is anything but trivial with different billing types via different catalogues and not infrequently in dependencies on various factors. With over 100,000 cases per year, MLL also presents us with a considerable quantitative challenge:

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: The MLL Munich Leukaemia Laboratory is a specialised laboratory dedicated to the diagnosis of haematological neoplasms to the full extent that is methodically required. We attach great importance to being scientifically up to date, to applying diagnostics according to the latest findings and to using technologies that meet the most modern standards.

How do you settle up?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: We have a highly individualised laboratory information system that is unique in the world. It was developed individually for us and is constantly being further developed. It digitally covers all of our ongoing examination processes, from incoming samples to outgoing findings. And the services are also stored here, so that they are basically available for the preparation of an invoice. We then have to merge these with a billing software that meets the corresponding specifications, especially those of the EBM.

Why external accounting software?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: For health insurance billing, the billing system used must be certified by the National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians. This certification must also be recertified regularly. There are constant updates, and these have to be implemented. That is why we decided to use external software that is able to work with our laboratory information system on a daily basis and without complications via interfaces.

KBV certification is a decisive criterion for most of our customers. What else did you attach importance to in the decision-making process?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: Yes. E.g. billing channels. The invoice recipients or the recipients of the invoices are quite different: Starting with the KV (health insurance) in our case the KV of Bavaria, which receives our quarterly invoice every quarter according to the corresponding EBM specification. Then hospitals, which receive invoices according to GOÄ for the patients treated by them as inpatients. Or outpatients treated in hospitals according to § 16b. All the way to private patients who themselves receive the invoice from us and then forward it to the private health insurance company. And for all these different billing channels, we need individually tailored processes to be able to issue the invoice quickly and correctly in routine.

And that's why you chose our DORNER Billing for medical billing?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: With i/med Billing from DORNER Health IT Solutions it works very well! - The software was set up three years ago. According to our specifications. Since then, new requirements have been jointly developed, e.g. when billing methods have to be adapted. The cooperation with DORNER works very well and efficiently.

28th Training Fair Weil am Rhein 2022

Meet us at the largest training fair in the region! We will be there in person and look forward to answering your questions.

Read More

Health IT Podium 2022

Mrs. Diana Stöcker, MdB (full member of the health committee of the Bundestag), at the first "Health IT Podium"!

Read More

Who goes to the sports physician?

Sports medicine? - Who goes there?

We asked at the Charité in Berlin: Who actually goes to a sports physician and when exactly?

Read More

Advantages of the DORNER Order Entry

Why do you actually need a digital laboratory portal? Or to put it another way: What are the advantages of using our DORNER Order Entry?

Read More

scan2rendering

scan2 - Product innovation at the DMEA

More patient safety with bedside scanning device from DORNER.

Read More

Thumbnail_Collaboration

Cooperation in medical billing - DORNER and MLL

The demands on our IT solutions usually do not stop with the successful installation.

Read More

Digitisation Thumbnail

Digitalisation in the health sector

As a developer of software solutions for the healthcare sector, we have had our finger on the pulse of digitalisation for 40 years.

Read More

GfH Annual Conference 2022

We cordially invite you to the 32nd Annual Meeting of the Society for Human Genetics!

Read More

Privacy - Thumbnail

Data protection - Are DORNER portals secure?

Data protection enjoys a very high priority, especially for all medical data.

Read More

BZ article

BZ: 40 years of digitisation with DORNER

On the occasion of our 40th anniversary, the Badische Zeitung reported about us and our deep roots in the region.

Read More

Medizinische Abrechnung DORNER Billing im Münchner Leukämielabor

Das Münchner Leukämielabor ist ein international führender Anbieter für Leukämiediagnostik. Für die Abrechnung von mehr als 100.000 untersuchten Fällen pro Jahr nutzten sie unser i/med Billing.

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern, Gründer und Geschäftsführer MLL Münchner Leukämielabor, verrät in diesem Video warum:

Die medizinische Abrechnung ist mit verschiedenen Abrechnungsarten über unterschiedliche Kataloge und nicht selten in Abhängigkeiten zu verschiedenen Faktoren alles andere als trivial. Mit über 100.000 Fällen jährlich stellt uns das MLL zusätzlich noch vor eine beachtliche quantitative Herausforderung:

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: Das MLL Münchner Leukämielabor ist ein Speziallabor, was sich der Diagnostik hämatologischer Neoplasien widmet, und zwar in dem vollen Umfang, der methodisch erforderlich ist. Wir legen dabei großen Wert darauf, wissenschaftlich up to date zu sein, die Diagnostik entsprechend den neuesten Erkenntnissen anzuwenden und dabei auf Technologien zurückzugreifen, die dem modernsten Standard entsprechen.

Wie rechnen Sie ab?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: Wir haben ein hoch individualisiertes Laborinformationssystem, was es nur einmal auf der Welt in dieser Form gibt. Es ist individuell für uns entwickelt worden und wird stetig weiterentwickelt. Es deckt digital alle bei uns laufenden Untersuchungsprozesse ab, vom Probeneingang bis zum Befundausgang. Und hier sind auch die Leistungen hinterlegt, damit sie für die Erstellung einer Abrechnung grundsätzlich verfügbar sind. Diese müssen wir dann zusammenführen mit einer Abrechnungssoftware, die den entsprechenden Vorgaben im Speziellen denen des EBM gerecht wird.

Warum eine externe Abrechnungssoftware?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: Für die Kassenabrechnungen muss das verwendete Abrechnungssystem durch die kassenärztliche Bundesvereinigung zertifiziert sein. Diese Zertifizierung muss darüber hinaus regelmäßig rezertifiziert werden. Es gibt stetig Updates, und diese müssen implementiert werden. Deswegen haben wir uns für eine externe Software entschieden, die in der Lage, ist über Schnittstellen täglich und komplikationslos mit unserem Laborinformationssystem zusammenzuarbeiten.

Die KBV-Zertifizierung ist für die meisten unserer Kunden ein entscheidendes Kriterium. Worauf haben Sie im Entscheidungsprozess außerdem Wert gelegt?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: Ja. Z. B. Abrechnungswege. Die Rechnungsempfänger oder die Abrechnungsempfänger sind ganz unterschiedlich: Angefangen bei der KV (Krankenversicherung) in unserem Fall die KV Bayerns, die vierteljährlich unsere Quartalsabrechnung nach der entsprechenden EBM Vorgabe erhält. Dann Krankenhäuser, die für die bei ihnen stationär behandelten gesetzlich versicherten Patienten Rechnung nach GOÄ erhalten. Oder ambulant nach § 16b behandelte Patienten in Krankenhäusern. Bis hin zu Privatpatienten, die selbst die Rechnung von uns erhalten und diese dann an die private Krankenversicherung weiterleiten. Und für all diese verschiedenen Abrechnungswege brauchen wir individuell maßgeschneiderte Prozesse, um in der Routine die Rechnung zügig und korrekt ausgeben zu können.

Und deshalb haben Sie sich bei der medizinischen Abrechnung für unser DORNER Billing entschieden?

Prof. Dr. med. Wolfgang Kern: Mit dem i/med Billing von DORNER Health IT Solutions funktioniert das sehr gut! – Schon vor drei Jahren wurde die Software eingerichtet. Entsprechend unseren Vorgaben. Seitdem wird bei neuen Anforderungen gemeinsam weiterentwickelt, bspw. wenn Abrechnungswege angepasst werden müssen. Dabei funktioniert die Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma DORNER sehr gut und effizient.

Vorteile des DORNER Order Entry

Wozu braucht man eigentlich ein digitales Laborportal? Oder anders gefragt: Welche Vorteile bringt der Einsatz von unserem DORNER Order Entry?

Read More

scan2rendering

scan2 – Produktneuheit auf der DMEA

Mehr Patientensicherheit mit Bedside-Scanning-Device von DORNER.

Read More

Thumbnail_Zusammenarbeit

Zusammenarbeit bei der medizinischen Abrechnung – DORNER und MLL

Die Anforderungen an unsere IT-Lösungen hören in der Regel nicht mit der erfolgreichen Installation auf.

Read More

Digitalisierung Thumbnail

Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen

Als Entwickler von Softwarelösungen für das Gesundheitswesen sind wir seit 40 Jahren am Puls der Digitalisierung.

Read More

GfH Jahrestagung 2022

Wir laden herzlich zur 32. Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Humangenetik ein!

Read More

Datenschutz - Thumbnail

Datenschutz – Sind DORNER Portale sicher?

Der Datenschutz genießt insbesondere bei allen medizinischen Daten einen sehr hohen Stellenwert.

Read More

BZ-Artikel

BZ: 40 Jahre Digitalisierung mit DORNER

Die Badische Zeitung berichtet anlässlich unseres 40 jährigen Jubiläums über uns und unsere tiefe Verwurzelung in der Region.

Read More

Thumbnail Videointerview

Corona vs. Leistungssport

Welche Auswirkungen haben die Maßnahmen rund um COVID auf den Leistungssport? Welchen Zusammenhang gibt es zwischen sportlicher Aktivität und einem vermeintlichen Krankheitsverlauf?

Read More

Thumbnail Workflow Engine an der Charité

DORNER Workflow Engine an der Charité Berlin

Das Institut für Sportmedizin nutzt im gesamten ambulanten Workflow unser i/med Sport. Eine von vielen DORNER Workflow Engine Lösungen!

Read More

DORNER Order Entry Thumbnail

DORNER Order Entry im MLL

Das Münchner Leukämielabor ist ein international führender Anbieter für Leukämiediagnostik. Um es ihren Einsendern so einfach wie möglich zu machen durch das komplexe Untersuchungsspektrum zu navigieren, nutzten sie unser DORNER Order Entry.

Read More