What is the point of an Order Entry? - Advantages

Why do you actually need a digital laboratory portal? Or to put it another way: What are the advantages of using our DORNER Order Entry?

The Munich leukaemia laboratory is a leading international provider of leukaemia diagnostics and uses our Order Entry System for electronic order entry and report transmission.

Christian Pohlkamp, MD, Internist, Haematology and Oncology & Head of Cytomorphology:

Dr. Pohlkamp, you have been using our DORNER Order Entry for some time now to offer your senders a convenient digital way to commission you with examinations. What are the advantages for you and your senders?

Christian Pohlkamp, MD: I probably can't even count that on one hand. It has many advantages! It starts with very simple things: For example, there are often problems with the correct transmission of patient data or accompanying documents (laboratory values, etc.). A purely digital transmission of such data is, of course, much less prone to errors than, for example, handwritten notes on an OB certificate. That is a first advantage. Secondly, the query of findings is of course faster, but on the other hand, the entry of orders in this digital portal is also significantly simplified and supported. So, a kind of assistance is provided in this very complex field of leukaemia diagnostics.

Do your senders incur any costs as a result?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: The installation process and use are completely free of charge. The support during the installation process is also free of charge. This means that there are no costs of any kind for the sender if they want to use this order entry system.

When using such portals, medical data is transmitted via the internet. Is this also safe?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Of course, we also hear the question about data protection very often from our senders. First of all, I have to say that the use of digital data transmission channels, as we have established them in our Order Entry, is now much more secure than many methods of conventional data transmission. It is also the case that the patient does not have to consent to the transmission of his data. It is also not the case that we request more data than we would receive with conventional paper-based orders. Nothing changes there. The only thing is that the method of data transmission is modified, namely digital.

And as soon as the data are transmitted, the sender waits for the findings?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: The orders can also be digitally post-processed and modified. It is certainly also advantageous for the senders if they can track their samples digitally. So if they can look in our laboratory book (in our digital one) to see which examinations have progressed with which patients and how far. How long does it take until I find out, for example, this or that critical parameter for the patient? This is also medically relevant in some cases, so that you can plan the therapy after the diagnosis. In this respect, I think that this digital portal (the order entry solution) will not only be helpful for the senders, but in the medium term, there is no way around it; in a world that is becoming more and more digitalised.

28th Training Fair Weil am Rhein 2022

Meet us at the largest training fair in the region! We will be there in person and look forward to answering your questions.

Read More

Health IT Podium 2022

Mrs. Diana Stöcker, MdB (full member of the health committee of the Bundestag), at the first "Health IT Podium"!

Read More

Who goes to the sports physician?

Sports medicine? - Who goes there?

We asked at the Charité in Berlin: Who actually goes to a sports physician and when exactly?

Read More

scan2rendering

scan2 - Product innovation at the DMEA

More patient safety with bedside scanning device from DORNER.

Read More

Thumbnail_Collaboration

Cooperation in medical billing - DORNER and MLL

The demands on our IT solutions usually do not stop with the successful installation.

Read More

Digitisation Thumbnail

Digitalisation in the health sector

As a developer of software solutions for the healthcare sector, we have had our finger on the pulse of digitalisation for 40 years.

Read More

GfH Annual Conference 2022

We cordially invite you to the 32nd Annual Meeting of the Society for Human Genetics!

Read More

Privacy - Thumbnail

Data protection - Are DORNER portals secure?

Data protection enjoys a very high priority, especially for all medical data.

Read More

BZ article

BZ: 40 years of digitisation with DORNER

On the occasion of our 40th anniversary, the Badische Zeitung reported about us and our deep roots in the region.

Read More

Thumbnail video interview

Corona vs. competitive sports

What impact do the measures around COVID have on competitive sport? What is the connection between sporting activity and a supposed course of the disease?

Read More

Wozu eigentlich ein Order Entry? – Vorteile

Wozu braucht man eigentlich ein digitales Laborportal? Oder anders gefragt: Welche Vorteile bringt der Einsatz von unserem DORNER Order Entry?

Das Münchner Leukämielabor ist ein international führender Anbieter für Leukämiediagnostik und setzt für die elektronische Auftragserfassung und Befundübermittlung unser Order Entry.

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp, Internist, Hämatologie und Onkologie & Leitung des Bereiches Zytomorphologie:

Dr. Pohlkamp, sie nutzen seit einiger Zeit unser DORNER Order Entry, um Ihren Einsendern einen komfortablen digitalen Weg zu bieten, Sie mit Untersuchungen zu beauftragen. Welche Vorteile zeichnen sich für Sie und Ihre Einsender schon ab?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Das kann ich wahrscheinlich noch nicht mal an einer Hand abzählen. Es hat viele Vorteile! Das fängt bei ganz einfachen Sachen an: Zum Beispiel hapert es häufig schon an der korrekten Übermittlung der Patientendaten oder der Begleitunterlagen (Laborwerte etc.). Eine rein digitale Übermittlung von solchen Daten ist natürlich wesentlich weniger fehleranfällig als bspw. handschriftliche Vermerke auf einem Ü-Schein. Das ist ein erster Vorteil. Zweitens ist es so, dass natürlich die Befundabfrage schneller erfolgt, dass andererseits aber auch die Auftragseingabe in diesem digitalen Portal deutlich vereinfacht und auch unterstützt wird. Also, es wird eine Art Hilfestellung geleistet in diesem sehr komplexen Feld der Leukämiediagnostik.

Entstehen Ihren Einsendern dadurch irgendwelche Kosten?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Der Installationsprozess und die Nutzung sind vollständig kostenfrei. Auch die Unterstützung (der Support) beim Installationsprozess ist sämtlich kostenfrei. Das heißt, es kommen keinerlei Kosten in irgendeiner Form auf den Einsender zu, wenn er dieses Order-Entry-System nutzen will.

Bei der Verwendung solcher Portale werden medizinische Daten über das Internet übertragen. Ist das auch sicher?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Die Frage nach dem Datenschutz hören wir natürlich auch von unseren Einsendern sehr häufig. Da muss ich als allererstes sagen, dass die Nutzung der digitalen Datenübertragungswege, so wie wir sie auch in unserem Order Entry etabliert haben, inzwischen wesentlich sicherer ist als viele Methoden der konventionellen Datenübertragung. Es ist auch so, dass der Patient nicht einwilligen muss in die Übermittlung seiner Daten. Es ist auch nicht so, dass wir mehr Daten abfragen, als wir bei den konventionellen papierbasierten Aufträgen erhalten würden. Da ändert sich nichts. Das Einzige ist, dass der Weg der Datenübertragung modifiziert ist, nämlich digital.

Und sobald die Daten übermittelt sind, wartet der Einsender auf den Befund?

Dr. med. Christian Pohlkamp: Die Aufträge können zudem digital nachbearbeitet und modifiziert werden. Von Vorteil ist es sicherlich auch für die Einsender, wenn sie ihre Proben digital nachverfolgen können. Wenn sie also in unserem Laborbuch (in unserem digitalen) nachschauen können, bei welchen Patienten sind welche Untersuchungen wie weit vorangeschritten. Wie lange braucht es noch bis ich z.B. diesen oder jenen kritischen Parameter erfahre für den Patienten? Das ist ja teilweise auch medizinisch relevant, dass man die Therapie planen kann im Anschluss an die Diagnostik. Insofern denke ich, dass dieses digitale Portal (die Order-Entry-Lösung) für die Einsender nicht nur eine Hilfestellung liefert, sondern eigentlich mittelfristig, da auch kein Weg mehr daran vorbeiführt; in einer sich immer mehr digitalisierten Welt.

scan2rendering

scan2 – Produktneuheit auf der DMEA

Mehr Patientensicherheit mit Bedside-Scanning-Device von DORNER.

Read More

Thumbnail_Zusammenarbeit

Zusammenarbeit bei der medizinischen Abrechnung – DORNER und MLL

Die Anforderungen an unsere IT-Lösungen hören in der Regel nicht mit der erfolgreichen Installation auf.

Read More

Digitalisierung Thumbnail

Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen

Als Entwickler von Softwarelösungen für das Gesundheitswesen sind wir seit 40 Jahren am Puls der Digitalisierung.

Read More

GfH Jahrestagung 2022

Wir laden herzlich zur 32. Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Humangenetik ein!

Read More

Datenschutz - Thumbnail

Datenschutz – Sind DORNER Portale sicher?

Der Datenschutz genießt insbesondere bei allen medizinischen Daten einen sehr hohen Stellenwert.

Read More

BZ-Artikel

BZ: 40 Jahre Digitalisierung mit DORNER

Die Badische Zeitung berichtet anlässlich unseres 40 jährigen Jubiläums über uns und unsere tiefe Verwurzelung in der Region.

Read More

Thumbnail Videointerview

Corona vs. Leistungssport

Welche Auswirkungen haben die Maßnahmen rund um COVID auf den Leistungssport? Welchen Zusammenhang gibt es zwischen sportlicher Aktivität und einem vermeintlichen Krankheitsverlauf?

Read More

Medizinische Abrechnung DORNER Billing im MLL

Mehr als 100.000 Untersuchungen pro Jahr abgerechnet mit unserem DORNER Billing.

Read More

Thumbnail Workflow Engine an der Charité

DORNER Workflow Engine an der Charité Berlin

Das Institut für Sportmedizin nutzt im gesamten ambulanten Workflow unser i/med Sport. Eine von vielen DORNER Workflow Engine Lösungen!

Read More

DORNER Order Entry Thumbnail

DORNER Order Entry im MLL

Das Münchner Leukämielabor ist ein international führender Anbieter für Leukämiediagnostik. Um es ihren Einsendern so einfach wie möglich zu machen durch das komplexe Untersuchungsspektrum zu navigieren, nutzten sie unser DORNER Order Entry.

Read More