Sports medicine? - Who goes there?

There are over 400,000 doctors practising in Germany. There are dozens of different specialties. One of them is the specialist in sports medicine. We asked: Who actually goes to a sports medicine specialist and when exactly?

Prof. Dr. Bernd Wolfarth and Dr. Thouet from the Institute for Sports Science and Sports Medicine at the Charité in Berlin provide clarification:

Who usually comes to see you at the Institute? Who are your patients?

Prof. Dr Bernd Wolfarth: We are now one of the largest sports medicine facilities in Germany, we simply have a high number of patient contacts per year and this also results in a very wide range of different patients. It really does range from young competitive athletes to professional athletes to Olympic champions. But we also see 40- to 60-year-old check-up patients and patients who are seriously ill and have been recommended sport as a therapy.

Dr Thomas Thouet: Of course, we also have a very large proportion of healthy, ambitious sports people who would otherwise not even think of going to the doctor for advice. It has to be said that the offer of health insurance companies for sports medical examinations has become much better, i.e. the costs have been clarified, and that brings a relatively large number of ambitious recreational athletes to us who simply want to get better advice about their sports activities.

With what concerns or complaints do I go to sports medicine? When does a sports medicine examination make sense?

Prof. Dr Bernd Wolfarth: It always depends on what you are looking for. In the area of sport/competitive sport, it's mostly about treating illnesses caused by sport or illnesses or injuries that have occurred in connection with sport. Or it's about carrying out such preventive examinations, for example, and the prevention of sudden cardiac death plays a role here. But it's also about ruling out other problems related to the practice of competitive sport.

Dr Thomas Thouet: Of course, there is also a certain focus on performance diagnostics. In other words, training counselling. Also in the field of competitive sports, but also in ambitious recreational sports. In other words: healthy runners, predominantly runners, triathletes, cyclists who want to have their lactate thresholds determined, for example, in order to optimally adjust their training to them. And possibly to add a bit more to it, perhaps to achieve a personal marathon target time. Something like that.

How do you deal with the different patient groups?

Prof. Dr Bernd Wolfarth: When we get cancer patients, cardiological patients, type 2 diabetics or obese patients, for example, who are supposed to take up sport. There, too, it's about examining the resilience. Here, too, the aim is to rule out any contraindications or problems due to the underlying disease that could be worsened by exercise. In part, it is also about optimising the therapy again and then enabling really safe exercise, which then has a positive secondary influence on the disease. Especially in the 40 to 60 age group, it is often the case that people come to sport either as newcomers or as people returning to sport. Then, on the one hand, we have to clarify the health situation, i.e. say whether it is safe to do sport. On the other hand, we can of course also give advice on how to get into sport in a sensible way. This means that we can objectify the performance, can of course derive training advice from the examinations that we carry out and can thus give people advice on how they can practise sport safely on the one hand and successfully and in a goal-oriented manner on the other.

Sports medical examinations are a health insurance benefit!

Obesity and lack of exercise have increased significantly since 2020. It is advisable to have your exercise capacity checked before (re)starting sport.

28th Training Fair Weil am Rhein 2022

Meet us at the largest training fair in the region! We will be there in person and look forward to answering your questions.

Read More

Health IT Podium 2022

Mrs. Diana Stöcker, MdB (full member of the health committee of the Bundestag), at the first "Health IT Podium"!

Read More

Advantages of the DORNER Order Entry

Why do you actually need a digital laboratory portal? Or to put it another way: What are the advantages of using our DORNER Order Entry?

Read More

scan2rendering

scan2 - Product innovation at the DMEA

More patient safety with bedside scanning device from DORNER.

Read More

Thumbnail_Collaboration

Cooperation in medical billing - DORNER and MLL

The demands on our IT solutions usually do not stop with the successful installation.

Read More

Digitisation Thumbnail

Digitalisation in the health sector

As a developer of software solutions for the healthcare sector, we have had our finger on the pulse of digitalisation for 40 years.

Read More

GfH Annual Conference 2022

We cordially invite you to the 32nd Annual Meeting of the Society for Human Genetics!

Read More

Privacy - Thumbnail

Data protection - Are DORNER portals secure?

Data protection enjoys a very high priority, especially for all medical data.

Read More

BZ article

BZ: 40 years of digitisation with DORNER

On the occasion of our 40th anniversary, the Badische Zeitung reported about us and our deep roots in the region.

Read More

Thumbnail video interview

Corona vs. competitive sports

What impact do the measures around COVID have on competitive sport? What is the connection between sporting activity and a supposed course of the disease?

Read More

Sportmedizin? – Wer geht da hin?

In Deutschland praktizieren über 400.000 Ärztinnen und Ärzte. Es gibt dutzende von verschiedenen Facharztrichtungen. Eine davon ist der Facharzt für Sportmedizin. Wir haben gefragt: Wer geht denn eigentlich wann genau zu einem Sportmediziner?

Prof. Dr. Bernd Wolfarth und Dr. Thouet aus dem Institut für Sportwissenschaften und Sportmedizin an der Charité in Berlin klären auf:

Wer kommt in der Regel zu Ihnen an das Institut? Wer sind Ihre Patientinnen und Patienten?

Prof. Dr. Bernd Wolfarth: Wir sind jetzt eine der größten sportmedizinischen Einrichtungen in Deutschland, haben einfach eine hohe Anzahl an Patientenkontakten im Jahr und daraus ergibt sich auch ein sehr weites Feld an unterschiedlichsten Patienten. Das geht wirklich vom Nachwuchsleistungssportler, über den Profisportler, bis hin zum Olympiasieger. Aber zu uns kommen auch 40- bis 60jährige Checkup-Patienten und auch Patienten die schwer krank sind und die Sport als Therapie empfohlen bekommen haben.

Dr. Thomas Thouet: Dann haben wir natürlich auch doch einen sehr großen Anteil an gesunden, sportlich ambitionierten Menschen, die vll. sonst gar nicht so sehr auf die Idee kämen, zum Arzt zu gehen, um sich beraten zu lassen. Da muss man auch sagen, dass das Angebot seitens der Krankenkassen für sportmedizinische Untersuchungen deutlich besser geworden ist, d.h. auch die Kostenübernahme geklärt ist und das bringt schon relativ viele ambitionierte Freizeitsportler zu uns, die sich hinsichtlich ihrer sportlichen Aktivität einfach nochmal besser beraten lassen wollen.

Mit welchem Anliegen oder welchen Beschwerden suche ich die Sportmedizin auf? Wann macht eine sportmedizinische Untersuchung Sinn?

Prof. Dr. Bernd Wolfarth: Da kommt es immer drauf an mit welchem Anspruch man zu uns kommt. In dem Bereich Sport/Leistungssport geht’s meistens natürlich darum entweder durch den Sport bedingte Erkrankungen oder im Zusammenhang mit dem Sport aufgetretene Erkrankungen oder Verletzungen zu behandeln. Oder es geht darum, z.B. solche Vorsorgeuntersuchungen durchzuführen und da spielt die Vermeidung des plötzlichen Herztods eine Rolle. Das geht’s aber auch darum, natürlich andere Probleme in Bezug aufs Ausüben von Leistungssport mit auszuschließen.

Dr. Thomas Thouet: Natürlich auch ein gewisser Schwerpunkt in der Leistungsdiagnostik. Tatsächlich also die Trainingsberatung. Auch da im Leistungssportbereich, aber auch im ambitionierten Freizeitsport. Sprich: Gesunde Läufer, überwiegend Läufer, Triathleten, Radfahrer, die ihre Laktatschwellen z.B. bestimmen lassen möchten, um ihr Training darauf optimal auszurichten. Und evtl. auch nochmal ein bisschen was drauf zu legen, vll. eine persönliche Marathonzielzeit zu verwirklichen. So in die Richtung.

Wie gehen Sie dabei auf die unterschiedlichen Patientengruppen ein?

Prof. Dr. Bernd Wolfarth: Wenn wir z.B. Krebspatienten, kardiologische Patienten, Typ 2 Diabetiker oder adipöse Patienten bekommen, die in den Sport einsteigen sollen. Auch da geht’s darum die Belastbarkeit zu untersuchen. Auch da geht’s darum eben auszuschließen, dass es vielleicht grunderkrankungsbedingt irgendwelche Kontraindikationen oder Probleme gibt, die durch Sport treiben schlechter werden könnten. Da geht’s zum Teil auch darum, nochmal die Therapie zu optimieren und dann wirklich sicheres Sport treiben zu ermöglichen, was sekundär dann eben einen positiven Einfluss auf die Erkrankung hat. Gerade in diesem Segment 40 bis 60 Jahre ist es oft auch so, dass jemand entweder als Neueinsteiger oder als Wiedereinsteiger in den Sport kommt. Dann müssen wir zum einen natürlich die Gesundheitssituation abklären, also sagen ob es auch sicher ist, Sport zu treiben. Auf der anderen Seite können wir natürlich auch Ratschläge geben wie man vernünftigerweise in den Sport einsteigt. Das heißt, wir können eben die Leistungsfähigkeit objektivieren, können auch natürlich Trainingshinweise ableiten aus den Untersuchungen, die wir machen und können damit den Menschen eben Hinweise geben, wie sie auf der einen Seite sicher und auf der anderen Seite aber auch erfolgreich und zielorientiert den Sport betreiben können.

Sportmedizinische Untersuchungen sind Kassenleistungen!

Übergewicht und Bewegungsmangel haben seit 2020 stark zugenommen. Es ist empfehlenswert, sich vor einem (Wieder-)Einstieg in den Sport auf seine Belastungsfähigkeit untersuchen zu lassen.

Vorteile des DORNER Order Entry

Wozu braucht man eigentlich ein digitales Laborportal? Oder anders gefragt: Welche Vorteile bringt der Einsatz von unserem DORNER Order Entry?

Read More

scan2rendering

scan2 – Produktneuheit auf der DMEA

Mehr Patientensicherheit mit Bedside-Scanning-Device von DORNER.

Read More

Thumbnail_Zusammenarbeit

Zusammenarbeit bei der medizinischen Abrechnung – DORNER und MLL

Die Anforderungen an unsere IT-Lösungen hören in der Regel nicht mit der erfolgreichen Installation auf.

Read More

Digitalisierung Thumbnail

Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen

Als Entwickler von Softwarelösungen für das Gesundheitswesen sind wir seit 40 Jahren am Puls der Digitalisierung.

Read More

GfH Jahrestagung 2022

Wir laden herzlich zur 32. Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Humangenetik ein!

Read More

Datenschutz - Thumbnail

Datenschutz – Sind DORNER Portale sicher?

Der Datenschutz genießt insbesondere bei allen medizinischen Daten einen sehr hohen Stellenwert.

Read More

BZ-Artikel

BZ: 40 Jahre Digitalisierung mit DORNER

Die Badische Zeitung berichtet anlässlich unseres 40 jährigen Jubiläums über uns und unsere tiefe Verwurzelung in der Region.

Read More

Thumbnail Videointerview

Corona vs. Leistungssport

Welche Auswirkungen haben die Maßnahmen rund um COVID auf den Leistungssport? Welchen Zusammenhang gibt es zwischen sportlicher Aktivität und einem vermeintlichen Krankheitsverlauf?

Read More

Medizinische Abrechnung DORNER Billing im MLL

Mehr als 100.000 Untersuchungen pro Jahr abgerechnet mit unserem DORNER Billing.

Read More

Thumbnail Workflow Engine an der Charité

DORNER Workflow Engine an der Charité Berlin

Das Institut für Sportmedizin nutzt im gesamten ambulanten Workflow unser i/med Sport. Eine von vielen DORNER Workflow Engine Lösungen!

Read More